November 5, 2021

COLLEGE STATION, TEXAS—Texas A&M University is celebrating the success of its $4 billion Lead by Example campaign this weekend at the Texas A&M vs. Auburn University football game.

The campaign, which began Jan. 1, 2012, and concluded Dec. 31, 2020, raised $4.25 billion for the university’s students, staff, faculty, facilities and programs through contributions from former students, friends and corporations to Texas A&M’s five fundraising organizations: The Association of Former Students, the Texas A&M Foundation, the 12th Man Foundation, the George & Barbara Bush Foundation, and the Texas Aggie Corps of Cadets Association.

As part of the weekend celebrations, the Texas A&M Foundation’s Board of Trustees is honoring the campaign’s co-chairs with the prestigious Sterling C. Evans Medal, the highest award given by the Foundation for philanthropy to Texas A&M. Recipients include Debbie ’76 and John Bethancourt ’74, SuSu and Mark Fischer ’72, and Amy ’84 and Tim Leach ’82.

“Our board recognizes these individuals for their exceptional contributions to Texas A&M, the State of Texas and future generations of Aggies,” said Lou Paletta ’78, board chair. “Their record of selfless service, including their leadership during the benchmark Lead by Example campaign, is worth remembering for posterity. This award reflects the shining standard they have set for the Aggie community.”

Awarded annually on a highly selective basis, the Evans Medal recognizes those who have contributed to the growth and success of Texas A&M by bolstering academic and athletic innovation on campus. In addition, recipients have also lent their service and leadership to boards and committees at Texas A&M, helping maintain the university’s place as one of the nation’s best public universities. Since 1998, there have been just 57 recipients of the elite honor.

“The Sterling C. Evans Medal is our way of thanking those who have gone above and beyond for Texas A&M,” said Tyson Voelkel ’96, president and CEO of the Foundation. “Throughout their lives, these recipients have set an extraordinary example not just for supporting the university but also for serving their communities.”